Hit and Run Car Accidents
Being involved in a car accident is a traumatic event, especially if you are injured and need medical assistance. When the crash involves another person who then flees the scene, the situation becomes even more complicated. Hit and run accidents are all too common in Rhode Island and Massachusetts, leaving injured victims confused and often frustrated about what can be done. Providence hit and run accident attorney David Tapalian can help you in the aftermath of a collision with a hit and run driver. Financial assistance is often vital in paying for medical costs associated with car accident injuries, and when a driver responsible for those injuries flees, the recovery of compensation may be more complex. David Tapalian has over 20 years of experience as a car accident lawyer, handling not only claims against negligent drivers but also interactions with insurance companies.Exploring Your Legal Options After a Hit and Run Accident
Leaving the scene of an accident before waiting for law enforcement, regardless of whether you believe that an injury has occurred, is illegal in Rhode Island and Massachusetts. Motorists are legally obligated to report an accident and wait for police to arrive, and they may be subject to fines as well as jail time if they are found to have violated the law. Drivers may leave the scene for a multitude of reasons, especially if they are uninsured, under the influence of alcohol or drugs, underage, or driving without a license. If you are involved in an accident after which the other driver does leave the scene, it is important to try to obtain as much information as possible, such as the vehicle’s make, model, and color, as well as any part of its license plate number. Of course, if you are injured, receiving immediate medical attention is the first priority and should take precedent.
When victims are seriously injured in a car accident, they may be entitled to compensation from at-fault parties for expenses associated with those injuries. A hit and run accident lawyer can help Providence residents determine which course of action to pursue. If the police are able to find a liable hit-and-run driver, compensation may be pursued from that driver or their insurance company. If a driver is not found or does not have proper insurance, victims are not completely without recourse. Injured drivers or other victims who have been involved in a hit and run accident may recover costs from their own insurance company through personal injury protection (PIP) or uninsured motorist policy terms. Rhode Island drivers are required to carry a minimum of $25,000 in PIP insurance coverage per person and $50,000 total per accident. However, although companies must offer it, uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage is optional. Consulting an attorney who has experience working with insurance companies or bringing an uninsured motorist claim may be vital after a hit and run collision.Consult a Hit and Run Accident Attorney in Providence
If you have been hurt in an accident involving a hit and run driver, and you need guidance as to what to do next, Providence hit and run accident lawyer David Tapalian can assist you in taking your next steps. Our firm is dedicated to helping victims seek compensation for medical care and other expenses after an accident, and we represent clients throughout Rhode Island and Massachusetts. You can contact us online or call (401) 552-5000 to schedule a free consultation with a motor vehicle collision lawyer at one of our offices in Providence or Seekonk and learn more about your legal rights.